Reviews

Reviews

Hannah, October 2020 – What a find!! This place is absolutely stunning! We were already excited to arrive but it definitely exceeded our expectations. The whole setting is beautiful and so tranquil. Our three days flew by but we were able to relax and completely switch off. The lure of the lake was too much for us and we had a dip or two which was such a treat…cold, but so worth it! The communication from Ruth and Jim before and during our stay was great and they were very helpful and friendly. We felt extremely comfortable and safe and they have all the appropriate COVID 19 measures in place. We loved everything about our stay and we cannot wait to come back one day for another swim in the lake! Thank you for an amazing stay!

Greg, October 2020 – Had an amazing stay at the cabin by the lake, the place is in an ideal location for getting around Cornwall. Ruth and Jim were great hosts responsing quickly to any questions I had and their garden is absolutely beautiful. Would definitely love to visit again.

Grace, October 2020 – This place is so nice and it’s so close to the beaches and towns! The log burner is such a nice touch and kept us nice and warm at night! Even though the weather wasn’t great, we had so much to do in the yurt and a lot of places to explore in the secret garden! Would definitely return

Alexandra, September 2020 – A truly magical stay – we cannot thank Ruth & Jim enough! Pengelly Retreat is perfectly located to be able to access all of the beautiful parts of Cornwall within a short drive. It really is a ‘retreat’, we loved the peaceful, magical, zen vibe – from the beautiful gardens to the thoughtful little touches throughout the accommodation. Ruth & Jim have created a sense of luxury with things like beautiful free-standing baths and underfloor heating, which is hard to find if you’re after more of an ‘outdoorsy’ sort of stay! We really didn’t want to leave and we’re already talking about our next trip where we hope to hire the Sail House and the Boat House with my parents. If I could sum up our stay in one word it would be ‘WOW’ – you must go! Thank you!

Karen, September 2020 – We stayed at the Sail House for a week and it is just stunning- we didn’t want to leave! The huge bath and the outdoor shower are amazing with plenty of hot water, and the cooking facilities are great for what you need. The lake is very peaceful and we even had a crack at paddle boarding, it’s lovely having breakfast on the deck surrounded by nature. It is very secluded, the hosts are welcoming and helpful while still leaving us to our privacy. It was very windy on some nights but the log fire makes it very cosy. Would definitely stay again!

Lyndsey, August 2020 – The Sail House is one of the most wonderful stays we’ve had. It was everything we’d hoped for and more. Particularly we loved the secluded and private surroundings. We enjoyed swimming in the lake, use of the SUP, BBQ and outdoor shower the most! Jim and Ruth made us feel very welcome and are lovely and approachable people. I could not fault anything about our visit and we’d certainly recommend this place to anyone considering a relaxing break.

Martin, August 2020 – Pengelly Retreat is beautiful perfect spot for anyone who loves water, outdoor swimming, beautiful gardens (including a secret one with a story!), nature and peace and quiet. Swallows diving and skimming the lake, trout coming up to the surface, small ducks wading from bank to bank going about their daily business, inquisitive bats flying around as you take a nightly outside bath after a dusk swim, these things are all part of daily life on the lake. On our last day we were lucky enough to witness a Cormorant dive in to the lake and appear 20 yards further down before taking off 5 minutes later we saw a Kingfisher!! Brilliant, absolutely brilliant. The Boat House was spotlessly clean and could not have been better. Jim and Ruth have created a truly magical place here and we can’t wait to go back.

Joanne, August 2020 – A truly tranquil and peaceful stay. Lovely location, private lake a bonus and boathouse immaculate. Ruth and Jim perfect hosts and there to support any needs and offer local advice. A lovely and memorable holiday.

Sarah, August 2020 – A spectacular setting with wonderful accommodation. Ruth and Jim were friendly and very easy to communicate with. The location is great for getting around Cornwall and exploring. We would recommend Pengelly Retreat to anyone wanting a yurt getaway!

Kate, July 2020 – Me and my husband have just enjoyed a wonderful few nights at Ruth’s accommodation. It’s a beautiful setting, very quiet, very clean and distinct. My husband loved the wild swimming in the lake! The location is great as you can get to lots of different beaches and villages within 20 minutes. Ruth was very accommodating as we had to amend our dates quite last minute and was also very informative with her local tips which we used a lot.

Xanthe, March 2020 – Fantastic yurt. Luxurious, comfortable and warm even in damp old March! Gorgeous location. The WiFi doesn’t reach to the Sail House at all so if you can’t survive without WiFi this may not be for you. Super location to visit Mousehole, Porthleven, Lizard etc. We went to Carn Euny too which was amazing. Ruth is a super host and everything was above expected. There was food and tea and coffee waiting for us. The bed is extremely comfortable. The wood burner is very effective. The bathroom is to die for. Such a relaxing place.

Christy, March 2020 – Beautiful place to stay. So tranquil yet amazingly homely feel in the boat house.

David, February 2020 – Wonderful location, Fantastic yurt with everything you could need for a glamping break. Ruth could not have provided more help with our booking. Recommend 100%

Georgie, February 2020 – Ruth’s boathouse was more perfect than I ever could have imagined, the whole area was so idyllic and peaceful, like a location from a film! Beautifully decorated and isolated from the rest of the world. Pure heaven for a weeks getaway! I would 100% recommend this place if you are looking for a romantic holiday and to get away from your every-day hustle and bustle!! Ruth herself was also very friendly and helpful from day one of my booking.

Andrew, February 2020 – If you want a place to relax and chill… this is the place to go! With no phone signal or tv… it was pure bliss! A real chance to unwind and relax. Set in amazing grounds deep in the heart of Cornwall…

Cheryl, January 2020 – A magical, peaceful place full of beautiful little details and surrounded by the sounds of nature. Beautiful bathroom and underfloor heating. Lots of personal touches make it even more special. Ruth is excellent at replying to messages quickly and is really helpful

Branavi, January 2020 – Ruth is a star! Everything was just sensational. The place was just a dream and everything we wanted for a peaceful getaway. The boat house was just ideal, Ruth has everything that you will need and nothing is too much trouble for her. Before I came I asked her to help me with a secret birthday hamper which she didn’t fail to deliver, it was waiting outside in the morning ready 🙂 so hospitality was impeccable. Jim was also a lovely gentlemen, very welcoming and informed of us of the Secret Garden which is an attraction in itself for the retreat. I couldn’t recommend this place enough, it’s definitely somewhere I will be coming back to. Had the best time!

Hanna, January 2020 – Great place to completely escape and force a digital detox (no signal at this location!) absolutely what the doctor ordered. A unique space in an incredible setting. Best nights sleep we’ve had in ages! Would 100% recommend! In addition.. the location is bang in the middle of Cornwall providing easy access to everywhere!

Tamsin, December 2019 – We spent Christmas in the Sail House yurt and absolutely loved it (despite the high winds and heavy rain!). Such a special place, cosy warm with the woodburner going, lots of blankets and yummy festive treats provided too. It’s such a beautiful location. Thank you so much for a lovely break. Would love to come again 🙂

Jamie, December 2019 – We came for a long pre-Xmas weekend. The boat house is as beautiful as it looks and offers the perfect romantic getaway. Ruth was very helpful and the boathouse was equipped with plenty of extras to make our stay as comfortable as possible – this included a bottle of Prosecco as we had just got married! Thank you for such a perfect stay and we would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a cornwall retreat.

Chris, December 2019 – Could not ask to stay in a better place. Very well maintained and very very clean. Very welcoming hosts who were more than happy to help with anything we needed. Were very helpful when it came to activities in the local area. Checking in was seamless which is just what we needed. Lovely views and tranquil environment made this a perfect stay! Could not recommend this place any higher.

John, November 2019 – Ruth was an AMAZING host. These are extremely accommodating, and all round lovely, respectful people. Me and a good friend stayed for 4 days to finish writing some songs, and it was just perfect. Waking up to that much natural light, and natural sounds, every morning, was a blessing. The beautiful still lake that runs seamlessly from the front decking outwards, is dreamy. The log fire is a great touch. If you’re looking for a place to get away from the madness, and hear your thoughts to watch them settle, then this is the place. Thanks so much and congratulations of having such a wonderful plot of land, Ruth!

Laura, November 2019 – We loved our stay here! It really is a magical experience. The yurt and it’s surroundings are just beautiful! It’s in a fantastic location and Ruth is extremely welcoming. There are so many little touches which make it extra special and we just fell in love with it. Would highly recommend the sail house and we are already planning our next trip here!

Nic, October 2019 – Our stay at the Boat House was perfect and the place is exactly as described and as shown in the pictures. If you want a lovely, quiet weekend away then this is the place for you to visit. Jim and Ruth are fantastic hosts and couldn’t have been more accommodating and lovely to deal with. It’s also very easy to drive to some lovely spots nearby (we recommend the Kennack Sands circular walk).

Megan, September 2019 – The Sail House is a hidden gem if you’re looking for somewhere that’s close to everything, but also completely away from it all. We loved all the personal touches and tips for exploring the area, Ruth and Jim have clearly put loads of time and thought into this gorgeous little place. Whilst the WiFi doesn’t quite reach the yurt, you really don’t need it and staying here is the perfect excuse to get away from everyday life! We played cards, swam in the lake and relaxed by the wood burner in the evenings. The Sail House is a private, cozy and refreshing place to stay if you’re after a bit of escapism

Denise, September 2019 – Ruth and Jim are lovely hosts. The yurt is placed in a beautiful and private bit of land on which dragonflies, bats, ducks,moorhens, trout and Buddha’s live. We were here for our honeymoon and found the whole experience an absolute delight.There is a bbq area, outside shower and secret garden. There is a lake to swim in. Although there are beautiful bits of Cornwall nearby to visit it is just so fulfilling to stay put, recharge and connect.

Tom, September 2019 – This place is wonderful, unique and a little bit magical. The yurt is beautifully done out, spacious yet cosy, lots of little details have been thought of and the surrounding wild gardens couldn’t be more peaceful. Ruth is a very thoughtful host, attentive and helpful without being intrusive. This is a perfect place to stay for some rest, peace, seclusion and privacy. We’ll be coming again!

Frankie, September 2019 – What an incredible place. It was a last minute booking and Ruth was nothing but helpful! Communication was amazing. And the Sail House- WOW! A slice of heaven. Was a perfect break. I would recommend to anyone!

Pip, September 2019 – The cabin is a must stay! It’s cosy with everything you need and loved our mornings swimming and paddle boarding on the lake!

Lisa, August 2019 – A little piece of heaven ! We had the most wonderful 5 days at the boat house, swimming in the lake, exploring local.beaches, and visiting the Mynack theatre. The accomodation is airy and light, with a natural feel, and the wood burner,kept us warm and cosy in the evening. Ruth and Jim are a delightful couple, so welcoming, and laid back. Thank you so much …. we will return.

Laura, August 2019 – Beautiful place to stay! The yurt is exactly as listed. Such a cosy and comfortable place to get away from everything. It is very private and we loved the outdoor shower and outdoor spaces. The yurt and outdoor spaces have been designed very cleverly to ensure you have everything thing you may need and also lots of luxuries. We could not recommend it highly enough and would love to visit again sometime!

Debbie, August 2019 – I have stayed in lots of different places in Cornwall over the years but this has got to be my favourite. Leading a very busy life immediately relaxed here and could not fault anything. The property has everything you need and lots of personal touches.swimming in the lake and going out in the boat was great and loved exploring the secret garden. Fantastic place will definitely book again.

Jessica, August 2019 – The Boat House is even lovelier than the photos suggest, it is the perfect place to escape and relax. We loved the stylish decor, sitting by the lake in the evenings was so peaceful and the lake is great for a swim! Beautiful beaches at Gwithian and Kynance Cove. Delicious food at Rick Stein’s in Porthleven and Porthminster Kitchen in St Ives. We’ve stayed at a lot of places in Cornwall but this is definitely up there as one of our favourites – we will hopefully return one day!

Salena, August 2019 – The sail house is truly magical, a tranquil and restorative place to stay, and feels like a little hidden gem in the heart of Cornwall. The yurt is comfy and homely and offers much more than I expected. Ruth was a perfect host who was quick to respond to any questions, was available if we needed anything and was warm and welcoming. We loved the lake and were brave enough to take the plunge daily, always followed by an outside shower, both of which were amazing and something I will sadly miss. Our days were filled with sight seeing, visiting small and exciting places thanks to the guide book left for us to read in the yurt. Evenings were spent sitting on the deck overlooking the lake taking in the last of the day light, listening to the moorhens, ducks and watching the birds and bats overhead. we are already planning our next visit as this has been an amazing holiday.

Bradley, July 2019 – Incredible accommodation and surroundings, so much attention to detail and brilliantly accurate photos and description. Exceeded our expectations and we will definitely come back again. I cannot recommend staying here enough!

Martin, June 2019 – This is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed in. Boat house is amazing, very cozy and with all amenities you need. Location is perfect for travelling around Cornwall and the views from the house are spectacular. Very quiet and peaceful place with friendly hosts. We hope we return soon to this little gem.

Becky, June 2019 – An absolutely beautiful setting, tranquil and peaceful. The yurt is amazing! So cosy, clean and has everything you need and more. Little touches throughout made it cosy. Everything has been thought of. Would love to visit again soon

Tracey, June 2019 – The Sail House, was a complete surprise for my partner, he was amazed as we walked along the path towards the yurt. Such a tranquil setting, everything was perfect. We have decided that we could quite happily live in the Sail House. Our weekend was gone too quickly and we can’t wait to return, maybe in the autumn or winter as the yurt is incredibly cosy.

Emelye, May 2019 – The Boat House was just so lovely. A well needed, peaceful retreat, surrounded by beautiful scenery. Sitting outside with the fire glowing and watching the birds fly over the lake was total bliss. We left feeling nicely refreshed and with some happy memories. Be sure to try the shower gel and shampoo!

Matt, May 2019 – My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend, we wanted a relaxing weekend to unwind from our start to the year. When we arrived Ruth was very welcoming and showed us to the Sail House. I was immediately blown away by not only how beautiful the yurt was but the setting of as well. The pictures do not do justice, it was breathtaking. Ruth very kindly let us use the BBQ and we had a wonderful afternoon/evening sitting by the lake eating and drinking. The log burner is fantastic and made it even more special. 3 nights wasn’t enough, could of easily stayed a week. I’m sure we will be back soon!

Rebecca, May 2019 – An amazing yurt with such attention to detail, with every comfort you could wish for! We loved staying there, Ruth and Jim were excellent hosts and we had everything we could possibly need. The location is absolutely beautiful and we loved sitting by the lake relaxing and watching the wildlife.

Josh, April 2019 – Struggling to write this review as I feel no matter what I write will do The Boathouse justice. An absolutely phenomenal stay. Set in picturesque grounds, The Boathouse is the perfect place for a romantic retreat or time away to relax. Spotlessly clean with attention to detail in every aspect of the house and grounds left my partner and I in awe, it is truly one of (if not) the most beautiful places we have ever stayed… an Instagram dream! There is a lovely lake you can swim in, small rowing boat and a fire pit outside should you be so lucky with the weather, if not the wood burner inside and under floor heating with blankets and pillows will keep you feeling cosy for hours. At the bottom of the grounds lies the Secret Garden which you must take time out to stroll down to! Fantastic communications with the hosts, who even contacted us in the weeks prior to our stay to let us know about what was going on in the area. Thank you so much guys, can’t wait to visit again!

Rebekah, March 2019 – the space created has been very thoughtfully designed and sensitive to the environment. a beautiful place if in need of tranquility and beauty. the bathroom and underfloor heating was a luxury and communication was prompt and helpful. i would most definately recommend a stay here to experiance the wild but in luxury. thankyou for a lovely stay

Emily, March 2019 – Beautiful, Tranquil space with thoughtful and personal touches which contributed to a lovely break away. The log burning fire, nice gardens and amenities provided means we would definetly recommend this accommodation and wouldn’t hesitate to go back.

Catherine, March 2019 – 5 star stay! It ticked all of the boxes. Gorgeous location. Amazing facilities and great value for money. If we are ever down that way again we will definitely stay!

Jessica, January 2019 – What an absolutely stunning set up you have! The location overlooking the lake is so serene. Loved every minute of it! It was so refreshing to get away from technology and just sit back and listen to nature. The underfloor heating and log burner made it nice and toasty in the cold wintery conditions as well. 100% would come back in the future, a perfect escape!

Wendy, January 2019 – The sail house is the most beautiful accommodation I could of asked for. Out in the wild and yet had all the essentials to make the stay stress free and perfect. Such a beautiful spot and having access to the lake is amazing. I could not fault anything and the hosts were so kind, I even got a little birthday present. I wouldn’t hesitate to go back, this will definitely be one of my favourite places I will return to every year, no doubt about it.

Alison, June 2018
This is an absolute gem. A dream home in a private paradise. Everything about the house and gardens invites relaxation and rest. Also great location to visit the jewels that Cornwall has to offer. Ruth’s tips and blog are really helpful.

Adam, August 2017
A fantastic house in beautiful grounds. My kids (3 year old twin girls and 8 year old boy) were in heaven. Perfect area to get to some great beaches etc. Can’t find fault, wouldn’t stay anywhere else if/when we’re back in Cornwall. Made for a great week.

Lucy, August 2017
Ruth’s place is delightful, picturesque mill-house in a superb, quiet location in Cornwall. It has a lovely outdoor covered area to eat meals and sit out. The garden is well kept and the grounds extensive – It even has its own lakes. The house itself was clean and well-equipped. The location is ideal for visiting both the north and the south coasts of west Cornwall. It is close to beaches and some lovely coastal towns. Ruth was very helpful in her recommendations. We would HIGHLY recommend Ruth’s place.