Reviews

Reviews

Nic, October 2019 – Our stay at the Boat House was perfect and the place is exactly as described and as shown in the pictures. If you want a lovely, quiet weekend away then this is the place for you to visit. Jim and Ruth are fantastic hosts and couldn’t have been more accommodating and lovely to deal with. It’s also very easy to drive to some lovely spots nearby (we recommend the Kennack Sands circular walk).

Megan, September 2019 – The Sail House is a hidden gem if you’re looking for somewhere that’s close to everything, but also completely away from it all. We loved all the personal touches and tips for exploring the area, Ruth and Jim have clearly put loads of time and thought into this gorgeous little place. Whilst the WiFi doesn’t quite reach the yurt, you really don’t need it and staying here is the perfect excuse to get away from everyday life! We played cards, swam in the lake and relaxed by the wood burner in the evenings. The Sail House is a private, cozy and refreshing place to stay if you’re after a bit of escapism

Denise, September 2019 – Ruth and Jim are lovely hosts. The yurt is placed in a beautiful and private bit of land on which dragonflies, bats, ducks,moorhens, trout and Buddha’s live. We were here for our honeymoon and found the whole experience an absolute delight.There is a bbq area, outside shower and secret garden. There is a lake to swim in. Although there are beautiful bits of Cornwall nearby to visit it is just so fulfilling to stay put, recharge and connect.

Tom, September 2019 – This place is wonderful, unique and a little bit magical. The yurt is beautifully done out, spacious yet cosy, lots of little details have been thought of and the surrounding wild gardens couldn’t be more peaceful. Ruth is a very thoughtful host, attentive and helpful without being intrusive. This is a perfect place to stay for some rest, peace, seclusion and privacy. We’ll be coming again!

Amie, September 2019 – Well, what can I say….. the annex is just perfect. It is clean and cosy with a comfy bed and a nice shower. The kitchen facilities are just what you need for a week long break and the space is certainly large enough for two. Although the annex is next door to Ruth’s home, it feels very private and you can come and go as you please. Ruth and Jim have the balance just right in terms of being there if you need them but giving you privacy at the same time. Finding bread, milk etc… in the fridge when we got there was a great touch and we felt so at home. All I can say to the hosts is keep doing what you are doing…. because its all top notch!

Frankie, September 2019 – What an incredible place. It was a last minute booking and Ruth was nothing but helpful! Communication was amazing. And the Sail House- WOW! A slice of heaven. Was a perfect break. I would recommend to anyone!

Pip, September 2019 – The cabin is a must stay! It’s cosy with everything you need and loved our mornings swimming and paddle boarding on the lake!

Lisa, August 2019 – A little piece of heaven ! We had the most wonderful 5 days at the boat house, swimming in the lake, exploring local.beaches, and visiting the Mynack theatre. The accomodation is airy and light, with a natural feel, and the wood burner,kept us warm and cosy in the evening. Ruth and Jim are a delightful couple, so welcoming, and laid back. Thank you so much …. we will return.

Laura, August 2019 – Beautiful place to stay! The yurt is exactly as listed. Such a cosy and comfortable place to get away from everything. It is very private and we loved the outdoor shower and outdoor spaces. The yurt and outdoor spaces have been designed very cleverly to ensure you have everything thing you may need and also lots of luxuries. We could not recommend it highly enough and would love to visit again sometime!

Debbie, August 2019 – I have stayed in lots of different places in Cornwall over the years but this has got to be my favourite. Leading a very busy life immediately relaxed here and could not fault anything. The property has everything you need and lots of personal touches.swimming in the lake and going out in the boat was great and loved exploring the secret garden. Fantastic place will definitely book again.

Jessica, August 2019 – The Boat House is even lovelier than the photos suggest, it is the perfect place to escape and relax. We loved the stylish decor, sitting by the lake in the evenings was so peaceful and the lake is great for a swim! Beautiful beaches at Gwithian and Kynance Cove. Delicious food at Rick Stein’s in Porthleven and Porthminster Kitchen in St Ives. We’ve stayed at a lot of places in Cornwall but this is definitely up there as one of our favourites – we will hopefully return one day!

Salena, August 2019 – The sail house is truly magical, a tranquil and restorative place to stay, and feels like a little hidden gem in the heart of Cornwall. The yurt is comfy and homely and offers much more than I expected. Ruth was a perfect host who was quick to respond to any questions, was available if we needed anything and was warm and welcoming. We loved the lake and were brave enough to take the plunge daily, always followed by an outside shower, both of which were amazing and something I will sadly miss. Our days were filled with sight seeing, visiting small and exciting places thanks to the guide book left for us to read in the yurt. Evenings were spent sitting on the deck overlooking the lake taking in the last of the day light, listening to the moorhens, ducks and watching the birds and bats overhead. we are already planning our next visit as this has been an amazing holiday.

Bradley, July 2019 – Incredible accommodation and surroundings, so much attention to detail and brilliantly accurate photos and description. Exceeded our expectations and we will definitely come back again. I cannot recommend staying here enough!

Martin, June 2019 – This is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed in. Boat house is amazing, very cozy and with all amenities you need. Location is perfect for travelling around Cornwall and the views from the house are spectacular. Very quiet and peaceful place with friendly hosts. We hope we return soon to this little gem.

Becky, June 2019 – An absolutely beautiful setting, tranquil and peaceful. The yurt is amazing! So cosy, clean and has everything you need and more. Little touches throughout made it cosy. Everything has been thought of. Would love to visit again soon

Tracey, June 2019 – The Sail House, was a complete surprise for my partner, he was amazed as we walked along the path towards the yurt. Such a tranquil setting, everything was perfect. We have decided that we could quite happily live in the Sail House. Our weekend was gone too quickly and we can’t wait to return, maybe in the autumn or winter as the yurt is incredibly cosy.

Emelye, May 2019 – The Boat House was just so lovely. A well needed, peaceful retreat, surrounded by beautiful scenery. Sitting outside with the fire glowing and watching the birds fly over the lake was total bliss. We left feeling nicely refreshed and with some happy memories. Be sure to try the shower gel and shampoo!

Matt, May 2019 – My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend, we wanted a relaxing weekend to unwind from our start to the year. When we arrived Ruth was very welcoming and showed us to the Sail House. I was immediately blown away by not only how beautiful the yurt was but the setting of as well. The pictures do not do justice, it was breathtaking. Ruth very kindly let us use the BBQ and we had a wonderful afternoon/evening sitting by the lake eating and drinking. The log burner is fantastic and made it even more special. 3 nights wasn’t enough, could of easily stayed a week. I’m sure we will be back soon!

Rebecca, May 2019 – An amazing yurt with such attention to detail, with every comfort you could wish for! We loved staying there, Ruth and Jim were excellent hosts and we had everything we could possibly need. The location is absolutely beautiful and we loved sitting by the lake relaxing and watching the wildlife.

Josh, April 2019 – Struggling to write this review as I feel no matter what I write will do The Boathouse justice. An absolutely phenomenal stay. Set in picturesque grounds, The Boathouse is the perfect place for a romantic retreat or time away to relax. Spotlessly clean with attention to detail in every aspect of the house and grounds left my partner and I in awe, it is truly one of (if not) the most beautiful places we have ever stayed… an Instagram dream! There is a lovely lake you can swim in, small rowing boat and a fire pit outside should you be so lucky with the weather, if not the wood burner inside and under floor heating with blankets and pillows will keep you feeling cosy for hours. At the bottom of the grounds lies the Secret Garden which you must take time out to stroll down to! Fantastic communications with the hosts, who even contacted us in the weeks prior to our stay to let us know about what was going on in the area. Thank you so much guys, can’t wait to visit again!

Rebekah, March 2019 – the space created has been very thoughtfully designed and sensitive to the environment. a beautiful place if in need of tranquility and beauty. the bathroom and underfloor heating was a luxury and communication was prompt and helpful. i would most definately recommend a stay here to experiance the wild but in luxury. thankyou for a lovely stay

Emily, March 2019 – Beautiful, Tranquil space with thoughtful and personal touches which contributed to a lovely break away. The log burning fire, nice gardens and amenities provided means we would definetly recommend this accommodation and wouldn’t hesitate to go back.

Catherine, March 2019 – 5 star stay! It ticked all of the boxes. Gorgeous location. Amazing facilities and great value for money. If we are ever down that way again we will definitely stay!

Jessica, January 2019 – What an absolutely stunning set up you have! The location overlooking the lake is so serene. Loved every minute of it! It was so refreshing to get away from technology and just sit back and listen to nature. The underfloor heating and log burner made it nice and toasty in the cold wintery conditions as well. 100% would come back in the future, a perfect escape!

Wendy, January 2019 – The sail house is the most beautiful accommodation I could of asked for. Out in the wild and yet had all the essentials to make the stay stress free and perfect. Such a beautiful spot and having access to the lake is amazing. I could not fault anything and the hosts were so kind, I even got a little birthday present. I wouldn’t hesitate to go back, this will definitely be one of my favourite places I will return to every year, no doubt about it.

Jade, December 2018 – A very peaceful location and annex with some thoughtful extras to keep us going. We loved our stay.

Kate, December 2018 – We have just returned from a week break at the gorgeous Pengilly Retreat. The annexe was very comfortable and clean .Ruth was kind and thoughtful providing some personal touches for us like milk and bread for our arrival and even helped us out with local information on events in the local area. The space is perfect for couples you have your own entrance, bathroom and kitchette area with complete privacy. Great place to stay if you want to explore both North and South Coast Cornwall as it is in near enough bang right in the middle between them both. Great stay .

John, November 2018 – Lovely hosts. Annexe was spotless throughout and really comfortable. Nice touches with the welcome gifts and children’s toys in the living room. It was a perfect Cornish getaway

Bill, November 2018 – The hosts could not have been more accommodating, the house was spotless, and the bread, milk, jam etc were much appreciated!

Liz, October 2018 – A week away from the big smoke in beautiful, tranquil & wild setting – absolute perfection! Really lovely family too 😀

Emma, October 2018 – Ruth and Jim were fantastic hosts and I cannot fault my experience at all. Ruth was always so quick to respond to my questions and was extremely accommodating (set up a travel cot for our 8 month old last minute). The annex was spotless – comfy bed, great shower, heating on and lovely kitchenette were great features of the property. Would highly recommend and definitely stay again. Thank you

Alison, June 2018
This is an absolute gem. A dream home in a private paradise. Everything about the house and gardens invites relaxation and rest. Also great location to visit the jewels that Cornwall has to offer. Ruth’s tips and blog are really helpful.

Charmaine, May 2018
Ruth communicated with us efficiently and her home was decorated so amazingly! Really loved every small touch done to the room. A good place to enjoy the nature and to get out of the hustle and bustle. Would have loved to stay longer! Highly recommend!

Paul, May 2018
The Mill Annexe is an excellent place to stay. Tucked away just off the Leedstown Road it is easy to get to but beautifully quiet and peaceful. The main room is superb, so clean and obviously well cared for. The entrance hall is perfect for dogs to sleep in and there is a lovely shower room and well equiped kitchen. The grounds are wonderful, plenty of space to explore with lakes and woods. There is even a section of garden set aside just for guests to use with a picnic table and great views over the lakes. It’s only a 15 minute drive to St Michael’s Mount so perfect for the beaches and watching the sun set in the evening, we really can’t praise it enough, it’s a fantastic place to stay and we will definitely be returning soon.

Tracy, April 2018
We loved our stay here, very comfortable, and exactly what we wanted for us and the dog, perfect. The little extras were a lovely touch too, tea, coffee, bread, butter, jam etc. great if you are caught out on your travels. Lovely family, great location within Cornwall, and set in beautiful surroundings. What more could you ask for!! Fantastic value for money. Highly recommended.

Chris, November 2017
We booked last minute for a few nights away and took our Dalmatian, Nico, for his first holiday experience. Ruth was extremely quick to respond to our request and questions and the annex was even better than expected. The land surrounding the annex literally is a paradise for dogs with a lovely swimming lake and abundance of bamboo. We are hoping to return at some point and would highly recommend!

Paul, November 2017 
We loved our brief stay in Ruth’s annex. Ruth was very welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was spotless and perfect for our needs, really great to be able to bring our dog too. Great value, would certainly recommend.

George, November 2017
The Annexe at Pengelly Mill was a perfect stop for me and my boyfriend. We travelled down to Cornwall for a weekend break and Ruth’s annexe was exactly what we needed. It was beautifully prepared for us with several amenities. The gardens and surrounding area is absolutely beautiful with a lovely neighbouring town (Hayle) just 10 minutes drive away for restaurants, bars, shopping etc. Ruth was very friendly, communicative and welcoming

Mat, October 2017
The best AirBnB I’ve ever stayed. Beautiful annex, grounds & everything else . Will definitely stay again when we’re in the area. Pretty much perfection really . Thank you so much

Suzy, October 2017
Stylish and spacious with lots of welcoming and practical touches (Milk, bread & butter, shampoo and shower gel etc) this was very helpful and saved us from going out shopping on the first day!. Ruth and Jim are very friendly and made our stay very welcoming. We stayed 2 nights and I would not hesitate to stay again and recommend highly for it’s proximity to local attractions but also being as rural as you can be!

Andrea, September 2017
Wonderful and so quiet and cosy. Highly recommended for yoga and qi gong experienced people

Phil, September 2017
Just spent 2 nights at the Mill Annexe with my dog Oscar. The accommodation is exactly as described by Ruth. it has been beautifully refurbished to a very high standard, with lovely bed sitting room with double bed, small sofa, table (big enough for two) and TV, superb bathroom with electric shower and a very skilfully arranged kitchenette with tea /coffee making facilities, toaster and microwave. The Mill is in a great location to explore the surrounding coastlines, countryside and villages of South Cornwall, breath-taking walks. The Mill itself sits in its own vast grounds. Communication with Ruth to arrange booking and checking in times etc. was quick an efficient.

Adam, August 2017
A fantastic house in beautiful grounds. My kids (3 year old twin girls and 8 year old boy) were in heaven. Perfect area to get to some great beaches etc. Can’t find fault, wouldn’t stay anywhere else if/when we’re back in Cornwall. Made for a great week.

Lucy, August 2017
Ruth’s place is delightful, picturesque mill-house in a superb, quiet location in Cornwall. It has a lovely outdoor covered area to eat meals and sit out. The garden is well kept and the grounds extensive – It even has its own lakes. The house itself was clean and well-equipped. The location is ideal for visiting both the north and the south coasts of west Cornwall. It is close to beaches and some lovely coastal towns. Ruth was very helpful in her recommendations. We would HIGHLY recommend Ruth’s place.